Oak Park and River Forest High School, District 200 Board Briefs

Thursday, September 24, 2015

Board Actions

Approval of the following items:

- Consent
 - Check Disbursements and Financial Resolutions dated September 24, 2015
 - Treasurer's Report
 - FY 2016 Budget
 - Personnel Recommendations, including Resignation
 - Center for Psychological Services Contract
 - West 40 Alternative Education HARBOR Academy IGA
 - Special Education Systems Transportation Contract
 - OCR Resolution
 - Policies for Amendment
 - o 2:250 Access to District Public Records
 - 4:45 Insufficient Fund Checks and Debt Recovery
 - 5:180 Temporary Illness or Temporary Incapacity
 - 5:330 Sick Days, Vacation, Holidays, and Leaves
 - o 6:15 School Accountability
 - o 6:40 Curriculum Development
 - Policies for First Reading
 - o 2:260, Uniform Grievance Procedure
 - o 5:50, Drug- and Alcohol-Free Workplace
 - o 5:270, Employment At-Will, Compensation, and Assignment
 - o 5:290, Employment Termination and Suspensions
- Open and Closed Session Minutes of June 30, July 14, August 27, 2015, and a declaration that the closed session audiotapes of February 2014 be destroyed
- Annual Recognition Application on District Compliance
- MENTA Contract
- Resolutions Recognizing the following students:

2016 Semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship Competition

Noah R. Banholzer	Julia M. Harris	Allison E. Miller
Lia I Bauer-	Noah D.	Sean S. Pawelko
Goulden	Heilenbach	Elizabeth S. Perkins
Sebastian M.	Grace J. Kavinsky	Martin N. Pimentel
Beaghen	Erica L. Knox	Lauren K. Pritz
Ryan J. Borgdorff	Dallas Koelling	Arjun Rawal
Sara E. Conroy	Sarah M. Kreider	Matthew Testore

Amelia C. Cornman Mary F. Martin Jake T. Grant Ethan J. Mertz

2016 National Merit Program Commended Students

2010 National West Trogram Commended Students		
Audrey N. Angelos	Logan G. Heffernan	Jeremy T. Pesigan
Conrad M. Brenneman	Henry P. Hitterman	Michaela A. Roskopf
Finnian P. Cavanaugh	Evan T. Kindler	Peyton A. Schafer
Luke A. Cimarusti	Philippe C. Labruyere	Issac Stopek
Sara S. Dimuzio	Grace A. Liao	Nora D. Sullivan
Ella L. Dixon	Valerie G. Lundeen	Sharadram Sundaresan
Emmett K. Donnelley-Power	Nicholas R. Martire	Richard G. Townsell
Hannah S. Entner	Christopher Meister	Chena C. Underhill
Aidan J. Flanigan	Oskar A. Muller	Aidan Wade
Gabriel S. Harris	Rachel Nitzsche	Matthew T. Wallace
Sophia D. Hayes	Uzochi P. Nwoko	Mark Weissglass

National Hispanic Recognition Program

Carly Johnson

Martin Pimentel

Olivia Zapater-Charrette

Reports

Dr. Isoye reported on that 1) Elizabeth Perkins, Jane Jozefowicz, and Maya Taylor, drum majors, received first place for a third year in a row at the Maple Leaf Classic marching band competition. 2) The Marching Huskies placed third. 3) Other accolades at this competition included second place winds, second place color guard and second place percussion; 4) Hanna Blankemeier, Genna Curry, Samantha M. Neilson, and Natalie Ungaretti broke pool records in both the 200 medley and 200 free relay recently with Natalie Ungaretti breaking her own pool record in the 50 freestyle while leading off the 200 free relay; and 4) The homecoming court included: seniors DeJohne Carter, Hannah Sklar, and Jasmyn Vega.

Discussions ensued regarding the administration's response to Board of Education member questions, Pool Funding Options and Design and Timeline Facilities, the Parameters of Long-Term Facilities, audio recording of board meetings, student discipline including restorative justice.

In addition, informational items included 1) Student Travel Experiences, Preview of Academic Catalog Changes 2016-17, and graduation will be held May 29, 2016.

Personnel

Resignation

Michelle Dotson Murray, Food Service Worker, effective 09/11/15

The next regular Board of Education Meeting will be Thursday, October 22, 2015 6:30 p.m. closed session & 7:30 p.m. open session **Board Room**