## Oak Park and River Forest High School, District 200 Board Briefs

### Thursday, April 28, 2016

# **Student Recognition**

The Board of Education members congratulated the 2016 IHSA State Wrestling Champions and their coaches as follows:

Peter Ogunsanya, Eduardo Bolivar, Torry Early, Roberto Campos, Jason Renteria, Anthony Madrigal, Gabe Townsell, Michael Ordonez, Edward Ordonez, Jack Fisher, Jaime Hernandez, Daniel Pedraza, Andrew Matticks, Brian Holloway, Darian Nichols, Isaiah White, Rolliann Sturkey, Chris Yen, Deundre Garner, Elijah Osit, Max McDermott, Kendale McCoy, Allen Stallings, and Chris Middlebrooks

Head Coach: Paul Collins and Assistant Coaches: Mike Powell, Joe Conway, Octavius Bellamy, Jeremy Powell, Ryan VenHorst, Jim Messer, Donal Collins, Craig Ackerman, Fred Arkin, and Nick Nelson

The Board of Education also recognized the achievements of the following students and their Investigative Research, Design, and Innovation (IRDI) teacher Allison Hennings.

Jilly Cronin, 1st Place at BioGENEius National Challenge Uzochi Nwoko, runner up at BioGENEius Joshua Super, 3rd place Junior Science and Humanities Symposia

### Board Actions

Approval of the following items:

- Consent Items
  - Check Disbursements and Financial Resolutions dated April 28, 2016
  - Monthly Treasurer's Report
  - Accepted a monetary donation from Albert Goodman from the Edith-Marie Appleton Foundation to the Theatre Department
  - Personnel Recommendations
  - NIIPC Bread Products RFP
  - NIIPC Greek Yogurt Products RFP
  - Rollover of NIIPC Primary Vendor Contracts
  - Special Education Transportation Contracts
  - Audit Engagement Letter
  - Youth Interventionist Contract
  - Policies for Second Reading:
    - o Policy 2:160, Board Attorney
    - o Policy 2:250, Access to District Public Records
    - o Policy 4:120, Bookstore
    - o Policy 6:140, Education of Homeless Children
    - Policy 7:100, Health and Eye Examinations; Immunizations; and Exclusion of Students
    - o Policy 7:130, Student Rights and Responsibilities
    - o Policy 7:140, Search and Seizure
    - o Policy 7:290, Suicide and Depression Awareness and Prevention
    - o Policy 7:340, Student Records
  - Policies for First Reading
    - o Policy 7:150, Agency and Police Interviews
    - o Policy 7:190, Student Behavior (formerly known as Student Discipline)
    - o Policy 7:200, Suspension Procedures
    - o Policy 7:210, Expulsion Procedures
    - o Policy 7:240, Conduct Code for Participants in Extracurricular
    - Policy 7:305, Student Athlete Concussions and Head Injuries
  - o Policy 6:280, Grading and Promotion for second reading
  - Policy 6:300, Graduation Requirements for first reading

- o Policy 7:305, Student Athlete Concussions and Head Injuries
- Open and Closed Session Minutes of March 24 and April 19, 2016, and a declaration that the closed session audiotapes of September 2014 be destroyed and a declaration that the closed session minutes from January 1, 1987 through May 1, 2016, remain closed
- o Classroom Technology Integration Plan & Equipment Purchase
- Motion failed to direct the administration to move forward with taking the west field/Keystone design to the next step of analysis by requesting that Legat Architects do a formal, detailed drawing and have an independent cost estimator determine the expected construction costs.

#### **Reports**

Dr. Isoye reported 1) in the past few years, OPRF has not had more than three students make it to the final round of judging in the BioGENEius Challenge, but this year 15 Investigative Research, Design, and Innovation Class students reached at least the regional finalist level. They were Jilly Cronin (first place), Uzochi Nwoko (2<sup>nd</sup> runner-up), Catherine Heyboer, Mary Martin, Joshua Super, Ainsley Tran, Anna Eddelbuettel, Chena Underhill, Andy Murtha, Maria Krunic, Jack Kwan, Olivia Whittaker, Atreya Mishra, Sharad Sundareson, and Nakisa Dashti; 2) three IRDI students recently made the top three spots at Positive Impact: The Midwest Research Competition where students are asked how their ideas could have a positive impact on the world. The winners were Mary Martin, first place, Danny Martinez, second place, and Uzochi Nwoko, third place; 3) the following student athletes recently signed letters of intent to play for the following colleges: Isaiah White, Ohio State University, Wrestling; Robert Campos, Notre Dame College, Wrestling; Genevieve Curry, University of Michigan, Water Polo; Ellie Ziegler, University of Dayton, Softball; Caitlyn Santiago, Roosevelt University, Softball; Patrick Skrine, Holy Cross College, Basketball; James Cousin, Augustana, Football; Sam Francis, Augustana, Football; Jamari Watson, and St Xavier University, Football; 4) Band teacher Anthony Svejda is one of six local teachers to receive the Chicagoland Outstanding Music Educator Award from Quinlan & Fabish Music Company, which recognizes excellence in the field of music education; 5) A Cappella Choir received a total of 113.4 points out of a possible 120 at the IHSA Organizational Music State Contest. All three judges awarded them Division I, Superior Ratings which gives them an overall rating of Division I, Superior Rating; 6) Senior Vann Harris won the 11th and 12th grade division of the Poetry Society of Virginia Youth Contest. It's a national competition with students entering from Virginia, Alabama, Maine, New York and Ohio, among other places. Junior Chanti Relf finished in 2nd place. Sophomore Kara Jackson finished 2nd place in the 9th and 10th grade division; 7) Noteworthy, the OPRF Show Choir, competed at the FAME show choir championship series in Branson, Mo. Rory Schrobilgen won best male soloist and Alonte Williams won best male stage presence. Noteworthy has been invited to perform at nationals at the end of April.

Village of Oak Park Manager Pavlicek presented information relative to the I-290 Eisenhower Expanded Bridge Decking. Information was provided about the WOVEN Program. Updates were given on the Student Services Division, the Culture, Climate and Behavior Committee (formerly PTAC), and the Flexible Furniture Pilot Program. Both representatives from Student Council and Faculty Senate reported. An FOIA status report was given.

# Election of Officers

Mr. Weissglass was elected to a one-year term as Board of Education president, beginning May 1, 2016

Dr. Moore was elected to a one-year term as Board of Education vice president, beginning May 1, 2016 Ms. Spivy was elected to a one-year term as Board of Education secretary, beginning May 1, 2016.

#### **Personnel Report**

New Hires Donna Sebestyen, Consultant Human Resources, part time, not to exceed 600 hours through 2/26/2017

**Resignation** Angela Parker, Baker, Food Service, effective 04/04/2016

Christopher Ridenour, Part-time Custodian, Buildings and Grounds, effective 04/27/2016

## Personnel Report for April 19, 2016

New Hires

**Tecia Smith**, Administrative Assistant, Buildings and Grounds, effective 04/19/2016 **Dr. Frank Danes**, Interim Director of Human Resources, effective 04/06/2016

The next regular Board of Education Meeting will be Thursday, May 26, 2016 6:30 p.m. closed session & 7:30 p.m. open session Board Room